Friday, May 25, 2012

Why You Need HGV Driver Training

Heavy good vehicle (HGV) driver training is a prerequisite for obtaining a HGV driver license. Driving a heavy goods vehicle is not as easy as driving cars or other lightweight vehicles. Specialized driving knowledge is essential for maneuvering the heavy commercial vehicles.
What is a heavy good vehicle?
Good vehicles above 3500 kg are known as heavy good vehicles. These comprise of lorries and trucks used for transporting heavy commercial goods such as heavy equipments, construction material, foods and chemicals.
How to become a HGV driver
Appropriate driving licenses are required to become a HGV driver in the European Union. HGV driving is divided into four categories - C1, C1+E, C and C+E. Although the aspiring HGV drivers take the same driving test regardless of category, the qualifying marks vary from category to category.
Features of HGV driving training course
The HGV driving training course prepares candidates for different HGV driving categories. The course emphasizes on practical driving, training students to handle the vehicle in diverse driving conditions. The trainer always takes into account the initial driving experience or aptitude of the candidate before designing the appropriate course. While the practical driving sessions prepare the candidate for passing the driving test needed for obtaining a provisional vocational license, to be eligible for the driving license of the relevant category, candidates are required to clear the theoretical test. During the practical training, candidates are exposed to different types of roads. They are trained in handling the vehicles in different types of environment. Depending upon the driving skills and learning ability of a candidate, it usually takes 5 to 7 days to complete the practical training.
The theoretical test is divided into two parts. The multiple-choice part tests the overall driving aptitude and knowledge of the candidate. The second part deals with hazard perception. It is a computer-based test. Only candidates who clear both the parts of the theoretical tests receive the HGV driver's certificate. The multiple-choice test varies according to the category of the HGV driver license. Regardless of category, candidates are required to take identical hazard perception test.
To obtain a driving license for the higher driving category, the candidate must be at least 21 years of age. To upgrade your HGV driving license to a higher category, you have to clear the practical test for that category. However, candidates are usually exempted from appearing in the theory test that they have cleared during the earlier driver license test.

Saturday, May 12, 2012

PCV Training for Driving Minibuses

You need PCV training from experienced trainers to become a passenger carrying vehicle (PCV) driver. According to the strict driving regulation of UK and the European Union, obtaining the PCV driver license of a specific category is a prerequisite for driving vehicles of the relevant category.
Categories of PCV driving licence
The PCV driving licence is divided into two categories - D1 and D. People with the D1 licence can drive minibuses with 9 to 16 passenger seats. Larger buses can only be driven by people with category D licence.
In addition to driving minibuses, the category D licence holders are eligible for driving passenger carrying recovery vehicle of weight not more than 10.2 tonnes for transporting disabled or injured passengers. In addition to the category D licence, the driver should hold a public service vehicle operators licence.
However, drivers of certain categories of passenger carrying vehicles can drive minibuses without a D or D1 category licence. People with a full category B or car licence can drive minibuses with 16 seats, provided the driver is at least 21 years of age, drives a vehicle owned by a non-commercial organization for a social purpose and not for hire or reward, and the maximum weight of the minibus including equipments for disabled people is 4.25 tonnes. An elderly driver above 70 years of age who meets the medical standards essential for driving a D1 category vehicle can drive a minibus. Passenger carrying vehicles at least 30 years old with not more than eight seats can be driven by a driver with a full category B licence for purposes other than hire or reward.
Why you need PCV driving training
By enrolling in a reputed PCV training course, you will receive the best quality training from experienced trainers that will help you to pass the PCV driving test. Candidates at least 18 years of age are eligible for obtaining PCV driving licence. However, until the age of 21, you can only drive minibuses that run up to a distance of 50 km.
Only candidates who meet the stringent medical regulations can apply for a provisional driving licence. You will receive the category D1 or D driving licence only after passing both the practical and the theory tests.
The PCV driving training courses are tailored to meet the requirement of individual candidates as assessed by the initial driving aptitude test conducted by the training organization. During the training program, candidates learn the different methods of handling a passenger carrying vehicle in diverse driving conditions.